EDS 111 – Principles of Teaching

Further Thoughts on the Course

thought buble

 

What I only knew before about teaching is the direct traditional teaching of teacher’s knowledge if the teacher does not have good knowledge of the subject then woe to the students and to the parents who are paying for their kids’ education. I know that teachers have different styles of teaching which may match or not match the students way of learning, since my time as a student was more than a decade ago I didn’t think much of the necessity to incorporate technology in teaching what I thought was it’s an open option, like, if I’ll be a teacher in a prestige school like a friend of mine who is a teacher in the Internal School of Manila I thought for her technology is mandatory but for simple private and public school I thought it was just an open option, it’s the teachers’ prerogative.

Just like professional improvement, I know teachers need to keep on studying but a requirement from each school for teachers to attend in-house training, 3rd party/external trainings is something new, even the part that teachers need to collaborate with others share best practices and encourage teachers for opportunities maybe the reason why I did not even venture to think that these activities are happening was due to lack of obvious impact and result to teachers content knowledge and teaching styles when I was still a student.

Only when I studied professionalism in this course was exposed to the fact that not all countries would have high regard to their teachers to consider them as professionals. For me then, other stakeholders of education stepped in to contribute to what should students learn nowadays to make learning relevant but not because, they are stepping in due of lack of trust in teachers, and that they don’t see that teachers are competent enough to teach young learners.

I enjoyed answering, thinking and completing the task for Teacher Nina, I don’t have formal teaching experience, to imagine what she is going through (they she may just be a fiction) is very daunting for me same feeling I felt when answering all the FD’s in this course. Questions would always make me think deep about what a read and several times I would feel that answering FD questions would have been a lot easier if I only have formal teaching experience just like many of my classmates. Teacher’s Nina and FD questions gave me a glance of what would be like when I become a teacher, this may not comprise it all but at least I’m not joining the profession empty-handed. I plan to talk about teaching experiences with my teacher friends and watch more real life uploaded videos to have more ideas on teaching. I still want to continue tutoring my Chinese students and some high school girls (until I can take the licensure exam and practice this profession) in our church as my way of applying specific topics like; reflective teaching, diversity and creativity. I think among many topics of this course these are the one with much relevance to tutoring Chinese for English language and teaching in Sunday School and Discipleship in our church.

The friend that I mentioned earlier invited me to be her assistant teacher in her classes this will give more opportunity to have firsthand experience of the concept and principles in this course as well as apply more topics into practice with the guide and mentorship of a veteran pre-school teacher.

Leave a Reply

