EDS 103 -Theories of Learning

Cognitive Theories of Learning & how it has helped me

This module is both complex and interesting for me. There were moments that I felt I just had enough of words, phrases and what they mean with my study. Each concept are highly informative and educational, it gives me mental visions of puzzle pieces falling in to right places whenever a concept gives explanation to how my mind works. overflowingThere were moments when I felt that pieces of information are almost the same with what I had previously read from another PDF. Then I’ll remember it’s because this Module is so much about how my mind works, portions of readings are mentioned in another readings too.

I’ve told you before about my tutoring experience with an ESL company. Every class has only 25 minute allotted time. I did not get the logic of it, I thought that classes are highly expensive but with very minimal chance of learning, like I have to rush finishing the whole material in one time slot or else I’ll cram the next day. I just could not get the logic behind a language class with only 25 minute time slot, there’s just so much explaining to do to person who could barely understand my words, who had to think in their own language and then translate each local word in English words before they could verbalize their thoughts and emotions.

There was an “aha moment” while reading the Primacy/Recency Effect by Sousa I was thinking maybe this is the reason behind the 25 minute class. I’m not sure if the people who structured the class based it on the Primacy /Recency Effect. Whether they did or did not is beside the point. Now I could focus my mind to how beneficial this could be to those kids and adults who spent 5 days in a week just to learn and be more familiar to the English language. Now that I know when their focus is more on the lesson or on something else I could pattern our tutoring class to that.

I already know I have STM and LTM prior to this module. As I was finishing my bachelor degree there were instances that I would feel it’s just too much, there’s no more space for other information. Admittedly I feel the same way right now, there’s just too much information to digest, too much principles and concept to understand then commit to memory. Fortunately, part of the reading is about how to increase the chance of understanding and retaining information.

You can just imagine how this week’s study has been a challenge and a good help to me, not just on how I understood my mind better, but also how I could maximize my time with students lastly, but not the least is how I could go on with more reading to complete my study of PTC without feeling the pressure that I’m no longer able to quickly and fully understand and retain what I read.

Clear practical application of this is to maximize my study by making sure that all distractions that will take up load will be eliminated, sounds or noise that would cause me to divide my attention from my study should be stopped. There should be a conscious and continuous intention from me to focus my mind to what I’m reading and to use both words and images to understanding and retain concepts.

Reference:

  1. Primacy/Receny Effect, David A. Sousa
    http://www.lancsngfl.ac.uk/secondary/math/download/file/How%20the%20Brain%20Learns%20by%20David%20Sousa.pdf
  2. Cognitive Load theory: implications of cognitive load theory on the design of learning, Paul A. Krischner, (2002) https://pdfs.semanticscholar.org/7883/a38d51593d21d06db2ec1375e0507220b576.pdf
  3. Dual Coding Theoretical Model of Reading, Mark Sadoski & Allan Paivio (2004), file:///C:/Users/HP/AppData/Local/Temp/Dual%20Coding%20Theory%20-%20Mark%20Sadoski-2.pdf
  4. https://archive.org/stream/ilhem_20150323_1458/[John_Santrock]_Educational_Psychology,_5th_Editio_djvu.txt

 

Leave a Reply

